Archive for the Reviews Category

Photo of the Week: Kirk vs. Kirk!

Posted in Comics, Movies, Reviews, Sci-Fi, Fantasy and Horror, Television with tags , , , , , , , on June 24, 2011 by ghostradioworld

This photo was snapped during the production “William Shatner’s The Captains” a new series in which Shatner interviews all the Star Trek Captains.  Yup, all of them:  Patrick Stewart, Avery Brooks, Kate Mulgrew, Scott Bakula and Chris Pine (above).  Shatner explains how the photo came about:

[Pine’s] shy. So the way I started the interview, I put out a table and chairs outside the Paramount gates, and arm-wrestled with him. That was the beginning of my interview with him. I think it broke the ice, that’s for sure.”

Frankly, we think the Shat should have challenged Pine to a “flying kick” competition.  But maybe that’s just us.

Video: BBC’s “First Men in the Moon” Trailer!

Posted in Books, Movies, Reviews, Sci-Fi, Fantasy and Horror, Television, Video on September 30, 2010 by ghostradioworld

Trailer for new BBC adaptation of H.G. Wells’ First Men in the Moon.  It airs October 19th on BBC 4.  This production stars and was written by Mark Gatiss (“Doctor Who“, “Sherlock“).  Looks like a nice bit of autumnal steam punkery.  We’re on board!

But how will it stack up to the wonderful sixties adaptation?  See the trailer for that great film after the jump …

Continue reading

Venus Vulture News Raves about GHOST RADIO

Posted in Books, Ghosts, Reviews, Sci-Fi, Fantasy and Horror with tags , , , on February 17, 2010 by ghostradioworld

Some nice words about Ghost Radio from the Venus Vulture News blog:

I’ve just finished the very hip book Ghost Radio by Leopoldo Gout. It’s a quirky and challenging novel with a seemingly well-paced story, but hiding a subtle and slow build. By the time I realised what was happening, it was almost done, even though all the clues are sown throughout the story. It’s told in episodic fashion, with snippets of radio interviews, flashbacks and with shifting points of view (at times I did find it tricky to know who the pronouns meant immediately). Each chapter begins with a haunting illustration that hints at what is to come.

Thanks.  Never get tired of reading stuff like this.

Librarians Dig GHOST RADIO!

Posted in Ghosts, Reviews, Sci-Fi, Fantasy and Horror, Writing with tags , , , , , , on July 2, 2009 by ghostradioworld

small-gr-image24

We haven’t written much about GHOST RADIO lately.   Probably because Leopoldo has been hiding in his secret underground base, teaching the demons to dance.

But we ran across a recent review of the audio book, and thought it was worth sharing.  Here’s a nice section of the review:

The ending is a perfect horror ending. The story is resolved, Joaquin completes his quest, but the supernatural force is left completely open ended. In fact, the reader is left questioning what the truth is and what really happened to Joaquin. The implication is that the entire book was really just the story of one caller into Ghost Radio. Gout left me completely unsettled, and I loved it.

Here’s another good bit:

I really liked the creepy uneasiness that permeated Ghost Radio. The book constantly has you questioning what is real and what is supernatural. The lines of reality are blurred and you believe everything (even the obviously supernatural events) is really happening. In this way, Gout’s book reminded me of Stephen King’s work. Like King, Gout is a storyteller first and foremost. Joe Hill’s collection of stories 20th Century Ghosts is also a great readalike for Ghost Radio. I wrote about reading this collection here (middle of the post) and suggest a few more readalikes.

For the rabid Neil Gaiman fans out there (I am one of you), Gout should be a reliable new author for you to enjoy.

Bentley Little also writes novels in which the real world and the supernatural collide in an unsettlingly realistic way. Try The House.

The review is on the blog “RA For Everyone” run by a librarian named Becky.  Hmm … librarians listen to audio books?  Sigh.  Another myth squashed.

For the rest of the review click here.

Audio: SF Site Raves About GHOST RADIO Audio Book!

Posted in Audio, Ghosts, Reviews, Sci-Fi, Fantasy and Horror with tags , , , , , , , on May 28, 2009 by ghostradioworld

audio

Brian Price of SF Site raves about the audio book version of Ghost Radio on his podcast review.  Listen to it below:

Another Rave for GHOST RADIO

Posted in Reviews, Sci-Fi, Fantasy and Horror, Writing with tags , , , , , on February 28, 2009 by ghostradioworld

small-gr-image24

From ECPL Rave Reviews:

Ghost Radio is a definite must-read if you like spine-tingling books that will make you think.

Read the rest of the review here.

Check out all the Ghost Radio raves here.

Another GHOST RADIO Rave!

Posted in Ghosts, Reviews, Sci-Fi, Fantasy and Horror, Writing with tags , , on February 16, 2009 by ghostradioworld

small-gr-image24

From the Sunday Eagle Tribune:

Do you like to read before you fall asleep? Don’t grab this book then unless you welcome a bout of fear-induced insomnia.

Gout layers creepiness upon spookiness and broadcasts a good amount of uneasiness over his story until you, like his main character, Joachin, aren’t sure what’s real and what’s imagined. That will leave you with a nice unsettled feeling and a long wary look at the clock-radio near your bed.

“Ghost Radio” is Gout’s first novel and I can’t wait for his next. If you want a book that will scare you, tune into this one.

Read the rest of the review here.

Check out all the Ghost Radio raves here!

Idea For Last Minute Christmas Shoppers!

Posted in Reviews, Sci-Fi, Fantasy and Horror with tags , , , , , on December 23, 2008 by ghostradioworld

small-gr-image24

Still not done with your Christmas Shopping?  Consider buying a copy of Ghost Radio for those paranormal and horror fans on your list.  Critics have raved about this debut novel from Leopoldo Gout.

The Reviews:

“Ghost Radio reminded me of early Stephen King — Carrie and Pet Sematary and The Dead Zone. The story sticks with you long after you’ve finished the final page.”

“A first novel that moves with deserved confidence into Stephen King territory … Palpable, almost visible cross-cultural creepiness that never lets up: very smart thrills.”

“A thrilling literary and visual experience, this contemporary ghost story set in Mexico is a fast-moving and enjoyable read. The story and writing style recall early Stephen King and Joe Hill’s Heart-Shaped Box.”

“The perfect book to curl up with when the TV news goes beyond horror.”

“Calling into radio stations has never been so creepy.

Readers on your shopping list will appreciate a gift of this terrifying new novel.  Available at bookstores everywhere!  Buy copies today!

Fantasy Debut Features GHOST RADIO

Posted in Reviews, Sci-Fi, Fantasy and Horror with tags , , , , , , , , , , on December 12, 2008 by ghostradioworld

small-gr-image2

Their take:

I do dabble a bit into horror, so this is more appealing to me. The premise reminds me of an actual late-night call-in radio show, Coast to Coast AM with Art Bell. I used to hear the last half-hour on the way to work, back when I worked on a military base and had to get in ridiculously early. It was all about UFOs and the paranormal. As in this novel, I always suspected that Art Bell was a skeptic.

Read more here.

Dark Angel Reviews Raves About GHOST RADIO!

Posted in Reviews with tags , , , , , , , , , , on December 1, 2008 by ghostradioworld

small-gr-image

They say:

GHOST RADIO is a wonderful read and I look forward to more work from Gout.

They also say:

Sometimes readers gobble down books, but this story should be read with greater attention to detail, so you can taste the words as you read them and appreciate them like a fine wine.  For example:  “Christopher Franke’s Moog synthesizer caressed these irregular forms while the amber light of sunset gentled against the rough edges.”

And they give it their special rating of:

5_pixies_8rgnRead the full review here.

And if you haven’t already:  Order a copy of GHOST RADIO today! And take a terrifying trip into the paranormal.

%d bloggers like this: