Robert Altman’s QUINTET: Learn the Rules!

Here’s a special treat for our loyal readers:  The rules to the game featured in Robert Altman’s dystopian sci-fi film Quintet.

We were asked about this by one of our readers the other day, and we thought they’d be easy to find somewhere on the web.  But we surprised to discover that they weren’t readily available.  So we dipped into our voluminous archives, created this PDF, and now we’re offering it to you.

This is the official rules pamphlet prepared when the film was released.  You can view it, save it, and print it here.  And we’d love to hear from anyone who’s actually tried to play this game.

18 Responses to “Robert Altman’s QUINTET: Learn the Rules!”

  1. Jet Jungle Says:

    So cool! I’ve been looking for this for years!

  2. Thank you.
    I’ve just seen the movie and was intrigued by this game. Despite what I’ve read about the movie, it was very good. Very emotional. But I’m also a softy for PA Movies.
    I wish the game were more popular and I want to see if I can replace poker with this game next time I hang out with the boys!

  3. mrspiral Says:

    I not only went to see this film when it came out, but my best friend at the time got the pamphlet reproduced here, and we made a board and some pieces. Getting enough people to play was tricky, but the few times we managed it, it was a surprisingly fun game… very cutthroat, as sure enough, by the time the first five players have been winnowed down to one, the survivor usually only has one piece left and must face the Sixth who has two pieces and has (if he’s done a good job) rattled his nerves a bit. 🙂

    • Wow! Great story. Thanks for sharing it. Wonder how many people went as far as you? Seems like this is the game that would have a few adherents at Science Fiction conventions. But never seen it played even at the game rooms there.

  4. Brandon Says:

    Hey. I just got down making my own board out of exotic boards a couple of weeks ago. I haven’t gotten everyone to play yet though. He’s was right getting enough people is turning out to be difficult. But I’m sure we will play it eventually, i’ts been in the trunk of my car ever since! Maybe i’ll put pics on FB and try to link you.

  5. Hi, I’ve posted more detailed rules at my website (and I stole your pdf…sorry/thanks). I will add more to my page eventually. I go through obsessive stages with things, and I’m currently on a Quintet role:-)

    Please have a look:

    http://seedyroad.com/diversions/quintet.htm

  6. Ok, I’ve had the board for quite some time, but moved, and had a baby since XD so i will get pictures soon. God that movie is so sad too. but I really enjoyed the game the one time I did play (with twigs and stones)

    pictures coming soon

  7. […] the Sixth Man has to face him/her in Quintet’s second half, a duel called Endgame. Because the rules are almost as confusing as the story points, there’s a sort of Quintet referee, but in the movie, […]

  8. […] the Sixth Man has to face him/her in Quintet’s second half, a duel called Endgame. Because the rules are almost as confusing as the story points, there’s a sort of Quintet referee, but in the movie, […]

  9. WOW! Like so many others I have searched for this game for years … it is responsible (well, the film) for my many years as a ‘gamer’ – rpg. board, war, trading cards (yup: M:TG) and everything in between.

    Gonna get the gang together to play this – thanks for putting such good stuff together 🙂

  10. […] and becomes one of those things that kind of makes sense but not really.  You know?  Looking at the website that does its best to explain the rules of the game “Quintet” (THERE IS A WEBSITE THAT […]

  11. […]  You know what, I’m not even going to attempt to describe it.  You can find the rules here.  Trust me, you’ll be in a far better place if I don’t try to explain […]

Leave a comment